Do You Live in a Photo Studio?

It’s Christmas time again and I can’t say it enough-I must get out that camera and get some Christmas photographs out of my latest holiday photography! I must admit I was a bit nervous about this as I usually like to go out and take pictures in the summer. But Christmas is a special day when families come together to see their relatives and friends, so it was great fun for me to be able to join in on this.

I always enjoy going to my location to wait for Christmas. In the past I have used a number of different photo booths to tempt people in, but my latest has been quite different. I simply asked everyone to stand still with their hands on a stick, so I could take their picture. There was no need to move from the spot you were standing to move around the surroundings. The whole set up felt very professional and I was really impressed with the results from the first little experiment. Additional info found at BringingUpBanjo.

10 Christmas Inspired Ideas for Still Life Photography

But that wasn’t the end of it. As Christmas approached, I tried out the photo booth again and got more excited about it. I knew that I had the best view of the Christmas lights at the time and also the chance to talk to the person shooting the photo. So rather than just sitting there as a photo, I decided to do my best to make the photo take process interesting. I thought I would try to explain the basics of the latest Christmas photo booth craze to my client here.

This is my latest experience with photo booths and I must say I am thoroughly impressed. The setup was really easy, you just stand in one of those lovely little picture booths with a view of the Christmas lights, talk to the camera operator and select your picture. Then you can relax and have a good time having a chat with the person taking the photo whilst admiring the night sky. And this has all been taken to perfection by the operators who seem to know exactly how to turn a customer into a star!

I use my studio in the summer to take photos of friends and family as well as doing commissioned work for photography firms. My studio is just down the road from my house and on a busy road. For me, taking photos of my family in the garden is much more fun and less stressful than doing so in a studio. And my clients are always very happy when I take their family photos in my own personal studio. So the answer to my recent article on my life at Christmas lunch was in fact, yes, I live in a photo studio.

So my answer to the question “Do you live in a photo studio” could more or less be an excuse to have another round of questions about the life you lead. I still use a simple studio flat to take my photos but I do let out small amounts of photos around my home. I always feel like I’m missing something when I don’t leave my front door and open up the curtains for a moment to take some photos. But I always go back to the one place where it feels most personal – my home.